30 Day Infertility Blog Challenge – Day 1

So really this should be day 2, but work is kicking my ass, so day 1 it is.  

Before I jump into the question, I got my IVF calendar today for the Antagonist/Ganirelix protocol.  Looks like I will be on 225 U of Follitism in both the AM AND PM.  That seems like a ton.  I’m trying not to read too much into it but I am worried that they think I am such a poor responder that they are giving the max dose.  And then I also do 20 Units of HCG every night as well.  Now onto Googling this protocol and dosage in some hopes of the internet guaranteeing me a baby from this round.

Now onto the day 1 question:

1. How did you and your partner decide when you were ready to start trying to conceive?

This is a bit of a long story.  For pretty much all my life I didn’t want kids.  My sister always did, and I always didn’t.  That said, I also never wanted to get married, but there came a point when that changed as well, so maybe I am just slow to change.  I can’t remember the exact moment when I decided that I did want to have a kid, but I do remember waking up one day and asking myself the question of what my life would be like if I never experienced being a mother.  From there I started to talk to T (husband) about it, to which he was shocked that I had changed my mind.  His best friend has two kids, and he is great with them, so he was also pretty excited.  Then my nephew was born and that finished me off – holding that little baby and seeing him grow up (although I don’t see him enough) has been wonderful.  My only regret is that we waited – we wanted to renovate our small condo and make sure we could move into a larger home (as I assumed I would get pregnant on the first or second try, hilarious now, I know).

Leave a Reply

