Stork Award!

The fabulous Meg from Work is for Suckers nominated me for a Stork Award, which is just so thoughtful and truly made my day!  The Stork Award was started by Teresa at Where the Bleep is My Stork and I have read and followed her blog for quite a while now and am honored to be linked to it through this award.  Here’s how it works:

1. Include the Stork Award icon in your post
2. Link to the person(s) who nominated you
3. Answer the 10 questions about yourself
4. Nominate as many bloggers as you want to receive the award 
5. Ask your nominees 10 new questions 
6. Link your nominees and let them know they’ve been nominated
7. Post the Stork Award icon on your blog side bar if you are so inclined (I am definitely inclined but need to figure out how to do this)
 
Here are the questions from Meg:
 
1.) What is your guilty pleasure movie/music/book/TV show?
Right now for TV it is Scandal.  I started Season 1 after my first egg retrieval and was hooked.  Right now I have just gotten through Season 2 (thank you 10 hour flight last week) and am prepped to start Season 3 after my retrieval next week.  For books my guilty pleasure is Nordic crime novels – Jo Nesbo, Camilla Lackberg, Jussi Adler-Olson are a few of my favorites.
 
2.) The best vacation you ever went on?
It’s hard to say ever, but if I think in the last few years I would have to say Italy.  We went to Milan, Florence (favorite), the Cinque Terre,  Santa Margharita and then back out through Milan.  It was heavenly, just the food and wine alone are still enough to make we want to be back there right this second.  The highlight was definitely a tie between Florence and the Cinque Terre.  Two of the best meals I have ever had were at those places.
 
3.) If you could have a superpower, what would it be?
Hmm, this is a hard one.  I think I would choose the ability to fly.  I am not super in love with heights and I figure that superpower would have to cure me of my fear and I could fly to so many places and get to travel so much faster and easier than taking planes everywhere.  Basically I want to fly back to Italy right this second…
 
4.) Time travel is a thing, but you can only go back and observe – you can’t change anything.  What time period would you want to witness?
Either the 1960s or the Renaissance.
 
5.) What would you choose as your last meal?
This one is something my family and I debate constantly (we are always thinking about if a dish would make our last meal status).  Here’s my current:  Starter: Goat Cheese Crouton Salad from Cafe Campagne in Seattle Pike Market, Main: Seafood Risotto from Miky Ristorante in the Cinque Terre, Desert: Goat Cheese Souffle from Araxi in Whistler.  
 
6.) The best book you’ve read in the last 5 years?
Wow, to pick one.  Here are a few of my favorites that I can think of over the last few years:  ‘Where’d you go, Bernadette’, Bangkok 8, A Discovery of Witches, The Interestings, and Ape House.  And can I just include all the Harry Potters as well?  They were probably more than 5 years ago but I do love them.
 
7.) What do you love about where you live?
Seattle is just such a gorgeous city, we have mountains, and water, and the sunsets just take your breath away.  I am lucky enough to live on the lake in the middle of the city and I don’t know if I will ever get used to seeing the boats and the sunset over the water.
 
8.) What’s your biggest pet peeve?
Lateness and people cutting in line (either in car or standing).  I especially hate when I bust my ass to get to something like a yoga class, and someone comes in late and disrupts the rest of us, ugh, getting annoyed just thinking about it…
 
9.) Who was your favorite teacher in high school and why?
Mr. Stern who taught History and Model UN, he was just so smart and so very tough.  His class was a huge challenge to get through because he made us think creatively about the past and use those learnings to apply to current events.  He was also big in the civil rights movement in the 60s and into the 70s and had a great perspective on the privilege and right to vote and instilled in us why it was important to stand up for what we believed in.
 
10.) What was your bravest moment?
Honestly I think it has been surviving through this infertility diagnosis and process.  I have definitely done things that I never imagined I would have the courage to face, both with the medical procedures and with the difficult conversations and truths my husband and I have been forced to face together.
 
And here are my nominees:
Not Pregnant and Pissed
Hope Love & Family
Maya at Don’t Count Your Eggs 
Lisette at Project Sweet Pea
Johanne at My Hope Jar
 
And the questions!
1.  What would you choose as your last meal?  (Sorry to copy, but I had to include this one!)
2.  Name one thing you really like about yourself
3.  What is your favorite season and why?
4.  What’s your favorite recipe/thing to cook? (Sharing of the recipe earns bonus points)
5.  What was your most embarrassing moment?
6.  If you could go anywhere in the world where would you go?
7.  What was the best gift you have ever received?
8.  If you were an animal, what animal would you be?
9.  What’s the weirdest thing you have ever eaten?
10.  If you could have a do-over for one moment or period of time in your life, what would it be and what would you do differently?
 
 
2 thoughts on “Stork Award!

  1. Yay! I love stuff like this – it’s so fun to see people’s answers. I loved Season 1 of Scandal, but I’ve heard season 2 is even better. And I LOVED Italy. I wish I could live there. But I would definitely gain 15 pounds, easily.

Leave a Reply

