It’s 6dp3dt, my ass hurts and a lovely email

At work but figured I would take a bit of time out to put in a short blog post.  

First an update on the delightful time period know as the two week wait:

The trigger tested out fully yesterday, totally blank, snow white test.  So I tested this morning as it’s my husband’s birthday and thought the universe might want to do us a solid with a super early positive (insane, but a girl can hope, right?).  Nope, just as blank as the one the day before.  

All of yesterday and last night I had a ton of cramping, low, like right under my belly button – and it felt almost burning, which I only get with period cramps.  So I’m hoping it is implantation or something is going on down there since it should be way too early for PMS cramps (please).  No real cramps today, just twinges every once in a while.  I’ve also had super sore boobs and nips – but that could be from the progesterone.  Last night and the night before have had crazy, bizarro dreams, and woke up at 3:30 am this morning and it took me a while to go back to sleep (which is rare for me).  And I had quite a bit of nausea 4dp and 5 dp, but nothing at all today.  But these all could be due to the reason both sides of the upper part of my ass are killing me, the wonderful PIO shots, and merely progesterone side effects .  I have been using Risa’s tips for the shots themselves, so they don’t really hurt at all, but a few hours later, holy crap, it feels like someone has hit both sides of me with a sledgehammer.  I will gladly continue this for the next many weeks but wow, it is not fun to sit down or lie on my sides right now.  I have my fingers crossed that these are real symptoms and not just fake outs from the PIO and Estrogen patches.

Switching gears a bit, I wanted to share an email I received from a woman I work with – she is very senior at our company, and I’ve always looked up to her.  She had shared her story with me about recurrent pregnancy loss (she now has 3 beautiful boys) and I had sent her an email over the weekend with an update from my IVF cycle.  Here is her email back to me – I found it so comforting and helpful (and it made me tear up) – that I wanted to share it with the rest of you that are going through this process, in the hopes that some or any of it is a comfort.

“I’m so glad you reached out!  I’ve been thinking about you tons and hoping for good news.  Really great that you had two good quality embryos.  I know that this time feels excruciatingly long.  It’s out of your hands now.  You did all the right stuff, now the universe takes over.  I know how hard that is for achievers, but it’s really true.  You’ll get tons of advice from well-wishers (“have a drink”, “don’t have a drink”, “get some rest”, “there’s no evidence that rest matters”, “think positive thoughts”, “I just know it’s going to be fine!”, “relax”, “get a massage”, “do yoga”, “for god’s sake, don’t do hot yoga”….. Sound familiar?).  Here’s mine:  don’t listen to anyone.  Your work is done for now, and you did good. “

 

 

6 thoughts on “It’s 6dp3dt, my ass hurts and a lovely email

  1. Your friend’s email made me teary eyed too. Thank you so much for sharing it and for sharing part of it on my blog earlier too. It really is the perfect thing to hear right now. Your work is done for now and you did amazingly! Now come on BFP!!

  2. That’s a lovely e-mail and I’m glad you have support from someone in real life who has been there. Here’s hoping all your side effects are pregnancy related. Are you going to keep testing every day?

Leave a Reply

