Busy but dare I say happy?

So I’ve been buried with work since coming back from the holiday, which is why I haven’t written.  Work has been making my days super long and I’ve been super busy, but the details of it can’t really go into a public blog :).  

So with that said, here are some super exciting updates of what else has been going on other than work.

It’s 6 dpo – I don’t feel anything at all out of the ordinary, but guess I wouldn’t at this many days anyway.  Overall I’m doing well, I have zero expectations of this working, but I feel very OK with that.  In fact, I feel pretty much at peace right now. I thought by now that I would be impatient to get started with the next round, but I don’t feel that way.  I’m living my life and actually enjoying it for the first time in a while.  I’m working out, doing hot yoga, and probably drinking too much wine – all the things I couldn’t just sit back and enjoy for the last year due to infertility treatments.  I’m also taking all of my supplements, so far they seem to be going fine, no side effects that I can think of.  Exercise and eating better is going well – other than the large amounts of wine I have been eating very healthy.  The Bahamas trip is in 2 weeks – not sure if I will have lost any of the IVF weight by then but at least I feel good and I’ve made the effort.  Getting back to the exercise and hot yoga has been wonderful, even if the results aren’t all that I am hoping for.  

Last week I went out for brunch with some girlfriends I haven’t seen since before the holidays, we met in the middle of an insane storm – lighting, hail, torrential downpours, very non-Seattle.  Everyone went around and updated on their holiday until it got to mine and I didn’t really know what to say.  I don’t want to be the debbie downer to everyone, but I didn’t know what to do so I updated on the IVF failing and then losing my shit in Denver over the holidays.  Most of them already knew that it failed, a few I don’t see as much, but they know what we are going through.  Everyone was lovely, but none of them know from experience what this feels like.  At the end up my short update my very good friend sitting next to me reached over and gave me a hug and told me that she believes in her heart that this would work out for us, and that the story isn’t over.  Just then the sun came out for a minute and a bright ray of light shone directly into the restaurant we were sitting in.  I choose to see it as a sign of good things to come.   

 

8 thoughts on “Busy but dare I say happy?

  1. Hey! Yay for 6dpo! I ovulated too. So happy that you’re at peace with things. You’re taking care of yourself. Your friend’s hug touched me as well. Your story really isn’t over. I am believing that good things are to come for you too. Let’s keep the faith going.

    • Yay for both of us finally ovulating!! Love the idea of both of us keeping the faith going, in the tougher days ahead when I know it will be hard for me to believe for myself, I love the comfort of having you out there believing for me 🙂

  2. Hell yea for wine. Seriously. Don’t let anyone ever tell you that drinking every night means you have a problem. Psh, what do they know anyway!? I love wine. Like a lot. I digress… So glad that you are feeling peaceful. I totally know that feeling where there’s no sense of urgency and less focus on all things fertility. Ride the wave, lady! Also, could you please stop talking about this Bahamas trip? I can’t get any more jealous of that getaway! 😉

  3. I still think the break I took last summer was one of the best things I could have done for my body and my mental health, even though at the time, the thought of a break seemed terrible. I drank sooo much wine and coffee and never felt badly about it. I’m glad you’re getting back to yourself, and hopefully when you face the next cycle, it will be with renewed hope, refreshed and ready for what’s next.

  4. Thank goodness for a break and feeling back to yourself a bit. I love that the sun came out right as your friend was providing you some comfort and support. As for the wine, I just bought myself a BIBB- (bag in a beautiful box) that is the equivalent of 4 bottles. There is no perfect diet or perfect health, finding a balance is challenging, but we have to be gentle with ourselves and enjoy life, which wine is excellent at helping out with.

Leave a Reply

