Beta #2

I’ll tell the story of the cluster fuck that it was to actually get these beta results below and start with the good part.  The news was good – beta #2 was 101 – which is a doubling time of 39 hours!  I was so relieved I almost dropped the phone.  I am feeling much better about everything after that call, and actually am believing that this is happening.  Based on some very good advice from many of you, I am going to try and enjoy the fact that as of today I am pregnant, no matter what happens from here on out.  Just like this round of IVF, the fall won’t be any harder if it doesn’t work out, so I may as well plan for it to happen and be happy in the moment.

Now here is the story of my morning as well as what happens next.

My morning:

I got to the crappy Seattle clinic at 7:40 for my 7:50 beta – waited a few minutes and then was taken back for my blood draw.  It was done by a ridiculously happy larger man (seriously, like so happy I wondered if he was on something).  He tied the band so tight it actually hurt my arm, which is a first in the hundreds of vials of blood that I have had drawn.  Then when it was done he dropped my blood vial into the box and didn’t even have me verify that the label had my name!  The paperwork he handed me had my name on it, and there was no one else in the office or any other vials in the box (I must have been the first), but still.  Got home and did some laundry, had a smoothie (have a great high protein smoothie recipe from True Food Kitchen in Denver that I need to post on here) and just tried to take it very easy.  CCRM calls at 11:00 am (12 their time) and tells me that they don’t have my beta results yet.  And I explicitly made sure when I made this appointment that they would get the results to CCRM by 11 am so they would have them in plenty of time to call me.  So I call this clinic, and get the answering service, who informs me that there is no emergency on-call number or way to talk to an actual person who works there (WTF, seriously?  They are still open at this point so I know that there are people there).  I know that they close at 2 so I get my ass in the car and literally drive back to the clinic, go up there and tell them that I need the results to be faxed to Denver.  The woman behind the counter tells me that she doesn’t think they are ready yet, and I tell her that we need to figure out a plan so that they are processed in the next 10 minutes as I have been trying and failing to have a freaking baby for 3 years and I need these results today (I was very calm and did not raise my voice at all but I’m sure she could see the crazy in my eyes).  So she went back and talked to the nurse and they said they had them and would fax them right now.  So I leave and drive back home.  I wait about 20 minutes and then call the CCRM on-call number and talk to a very nice nurse who checks the fax and tells me that they don’t have the results.  The nice CCRM nurse asks me for the number for the crappy Seattle clinic answering service and says she will call them to get this worked out.  Apparently her call works, but jeez, it really didn’t have to be that difficult.  Oh and this clinic also forgot to run my estrogen and progesterone on beta #1 so I have to go back and get that checked on Monday – which should be fun to somehow send orders and schedule when I can’t talk to a person there tomorrow.

What happens next:

The nurse who called said that my IVF nurse will call on Monday to setup a weekly blood draw for estrogen and progesterone, but she didn’t say anything about another beta, so I guess we’re good with just the two betas?  I was so flustered I didn’t think to ask.  My TSH is at 2.1 – they want it under 2.5 so it’s good for now, but it has jumped a few points since I got it checked at my physical a few weeks ago (it was 1.5) so I’m going to ask if we can check it again next week just to be sure.  Other than that I am to stay on all my medications (Vivelle, Endometrium, PIO, baby aspirin and Estradiol) unless any of the levels come back and it needs to be tweaked.  She said that I am 4 weeks, 2 days pregnant (so weird to type or say that out loud) today and they will schedule an ultrasound for around 6 and a half weeks.  So crazy to think that we will have an ultrasound to see this little being (a good friend of mine had a dream last night that I gave birth to an olive martini – so maybe we will nickname the little being olive martini) in a few weeks.  Come on little Olive M – you need to continue to grow and have a strong and amazing heartbeat for us to see very soon!

I am going to go now and respond to all of your lovely comments, and maybe if I have time this weekend I will get around to updating my timeline for all the CCRM stuff, as well as a page with the IVF playlist you ladies helped me put together.  I also have a bunch of PIO tips and tricks culminated from a bunch of other bloggers into something that seems to be working well (although to be fair we only have to do PIO every other day since we are also on endometrium).  Oh and another exciting thing, coalesced reverie awarded me the one lovely blog award, so that post is coming soon too!

Thanks again for supporting, hoping and listening to all of my crazy over the last couple of days.  It has been a roller coaster of emotions, and I’m sure there will be more, but I don’t think I could survive it all without the amazing infertile community that I am proud to be a part of.

52 thoughts on “Beta #2

  1. Yeah!!! So thrilled to see this news about the great beta. I *love* that you drove over to the clinic to get their a*s into gear. Seriously. Enjoy this and happy 4 weeks and 2 days to you. Fingers crossed for continued good news and a great ultrasound in a few weeks.

    • Thanks! And as I was doing my driving over to the clinic I was thinking that hopefully it would at least make a funny story someday. Needless to say, I am looking for a new monitoring clinic for the ultrasound…

  2. What a an ordeal you had to go through to get those results today, but yay!!! I’m so happy for you! Praying the rest of your bloodwork is good and that little Olive M is just perfect at your ultrasound in a couple of weeks!

    • Thanks! They are so awful. I went to another, smaller clinic for IVF #1 and 2 but they are so small they don’t do out of state patients. I am going to look for another big clinic around here or even down south in Tacoma on Monday as there is no way I am going to that place for the ultrasound. So happy that you have your 3 from this last cycle and look forward to continued good news for you with this protocol.

    • Keep singing! Your singing is helping little Olive Martini to grow, and now he/she is making me feel like I have had one too many martinis, so I am taking that as a good sign. And yes to being a hardass, people should really realize that I am not to be fucked with right now 🙂

  3. So, so happy to read this! Yay little Olive Martini – keep up the good growing work! Sorry you had to deal with such shenanigans at the clinic. It sounds like they need a collective cock punch.

    • This made me laugh out loud, they do need a collective cock punch. Needless to say first thing tomorrow I will be looking for a new clinic to do the ultrasound and future monitoring at (I loved my original one but they are so small they don’t do out of state).

    • That is so sweet, brought tears to my eyes! Would love to hear all about how you are doing as well, since it’s been a while since your last post, hoping everything is continuing fabulously with lots of growth and good things!

  4. So glad to hear that things are doubling; maybe you just had a late implanter? FETs can do that… I hope that very soon you can work with a new OB instead of the stupid clinic and you have a brilliant experience there.

  5. I am crying years of joy at the moment. I have been following you through my own infertility shit show and I hadn’t read your blog since you were waiting to head out to Denver. I have just caught up and I am so excited for you!!!! I am hoping for a healthy pregnancy for you. Although it’s difficult and you will always hold some anxiety that all won’t go well (because we are used to bad news) try to enjoy it as much as you can 🙂 Congratulations, your hard work, sacrifices and your persistence got you a baby in your ute, you are one inspirational woman.
    Thank you for giving us infertiles a no bullshit, realistic, funny woman to take courage from during infertility hell. FUCK YEAH!

    • This comment brought tears to my eyes, thank you so much for the well wishes and I hope that your own infertility shit show/hell hole is over very soon. Fuck yeah for both of us!

  6. Just stopping by to say I’m thinking of you and little Olive M! Still singing and hoping you’re staying same and feeling good. By which I mean you have morning sickness and feel pregnant as hell xx

Leave a Reply

