Thankful

A year ago on Thanksgiving I was preparing for my second egg retrieval the following morning.  Full of hope that the second IVF would be our ticket out and that the first round that ended in such disaster could possibly just a fluke.  I took pumpkin pie into the nurses that morning and wished with everything that the holidays would be different last year, the same thing I had wished the year before. And it wasn’t different last year, it was another shit holiday season with too many tears and too much wine to try and compensate.  In some ways I can’t believe that it’s been a full year since IVF #2 and in other ways this has been the longest year of my life.

This year, I woke up this morning and had to spend a few moments actually contemplating that there were many times I never thought we would get here and I still can’t quite believe we are here.  I am so thankful to actually, miraculously be pregnant this Thanksgiving.  Today I am 14 weeks, the first day of the second trimester, which I’m taking as a good sign looking back on last Thanksgiving.  Little baby Olive and I have made it this far, and my new hope is that she continues to grow and thrive in there for many, many more weeks to come.

I am so very thankful for this community and all of the ladies who have helped keep me sane these past two years.  I know the holidays can be a very, very tough time, please know that I am thinking of all of you and keeping you in my heart through the good and the bad.

Happy Thanksgiving.

17 thoughts on “Thankful

    • Thank you my dear, sorry that this Thanksgiving is not going the way that we all had hoped it would for you and hoping that you will be receiving much better news very soon.

    • Me too, so, so thankful to be here this year. Can’t believe last Christmas we were sending you guys the beer! How far we have all come in a year. And hopeful that everyone else makes it here very soon, the holidays can be so hard.

      • I know! You’re the best. Matt freaking loved that beer you picked. And it seems like a completely dofferent time. How did we even manage to get here? But you’re right—I wish we could take everyone with us.

  1. Long-time lurker here. Thanks for thinking of those of us “in the trenches..” Last year at the holidays it was a sh*t time for me because of infertility and this year we’re still in a similar place. I can’t explain it, but it’s deeply comforting to hear from someone who has been there that holidays are tough AND to see that there is hope. I have transfer in 12/16 and test on 12/26. They tried to get me to come in on Christmas and I refuse. I’ve loved following your journey! Keep us updated!

    • Thank you so much for commenting, I am always thinking of everyone still out there struggling, especially this time of year. Will be sending positive thoughts and hope for your transfer on the 16th!!

    • Thanks! And less than 20 days for you until the ‘induction’, so exciting! Hoping that you are continuing to do well and that these next few weeks go by happily and easily.

    • Thanks, you are so sweet! All is well, got back to all my blogs yesterday (including yours – a little under 6 weeks to go and bye bye work, yay!!!). I’ll be 19 weeks tomorrow which seems crazy but so far it’s been a pretty normal, boring pregnancy, which I could not be happier about. Happy new year and love to you as well!

Leave a Reply

